Macaws/Cockatoo's

Joker1546081795

Hi all,

Anyone ever owned or currently own any macaws or cockatoo's? I am definitely thinking about getting one, preferably a Hyacinth Macaw or a Moluccan Cockatoo. Do you own or have owned one? I'd like to hear from you.

Vamp

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Joker1546081795

• Administrative Account

• callsign-kid

• Santisuk1546081549

Those are both rather fancy and expensive birds and the Hyacinth particularly is very high maintenance with a very specific (expensive and relatively difficult) diet.

Finance is not an issue, 1.5k for the Moluccan is easily accuired with good saving! As for the diet of the Hyacinth, what would you say it requires?

I'm far from an expert. However the Hyacinth eats nuts, usually people feed them mostly macadamia nuts I believe. They will also eat Brazil nuts (breaking the shell isn't an issue for them) and a few others which are from their native South America. There are also some seeds which they can be fed. The diet isn't too expensive but it can be hard to source some of it and its not as cheap as you may initally think.

They have a very powerful beak, so much so that a coconut shell doesn't really present them with an issue. They can break straight through it. They are also incredibly intelligent birds but aren't really talkative and won't mimic you much. They require A LOT of attention. Near constant. If you're not giving them that level of attention they will start to pluck out their own plumage and generally be unhappy which can lead to other issues. You'll also need to know a good avian vet (for either species). Most normal vets won't really want to have too much to do with a bird like that. That sort of veterinary care isn't exactly cheap.