Messing about on the river / canal

Administrative Account

OK, being of a certain age I have finally got my way and booked a holiday on a canal boat. I have always been drawn to the water and whilst never having felt the desire to captain Titanic MK2 I felt confident that I could muster up and learn the ropes with a canal boat with a top legal speed of 4mph.

At least before I booked the holiday I felt confident, but this seems more complicated than I envisaged. You travel in the middle of the canal and pass other boats on the the right hand side?

Also, there are the locks which scare me a bit. I am sure that the tuition before I get let loose we will get will help a bit, but scissor locks? staircase locks?

Are there any other canal boaters out there on the forum please?

I am a canal boat veteran. Which canal are you venturing out on?

I have done almost every single one in England!

You will get the hang of it really quick. I was piloting them aged 11 with no problems!

Erm... up near Rugby I think!

Never done canals, but have had three great holidays on the Norfolk Broads. Loved every minute of them. You'll have a great time. Enjoy.

Edited by David
Weird formatting removed

Locks arent as bad as they seem. Unless the pressure on both sides of the doors is equal (i.e. the water is the same height) then the design physically prevents them opening so unless you are the Hulk then theres no risk of opening the doors and creating a rapid rush of water.

Oh and dont worry about docking/manoeuvring - they've got bump buoys fitted for a reason :p

Be interested to hear how it goes, Rocket. I've been wanting to do a bit of a boating holiday either on a canal boat or a broads cruiser for ages but I'm a bit unsure of what it'll be like!