Windows 8 / Broadband

cfnbryn

Hello all...

I have been trying to sort out my mother-in-laws new laptops today. Both are brand new and are on Windows 8 and we are having major problems trying to use the Internet. We have managed to finally get Google Chrome on by downloading it onto my laptop and using a memory stick to transfer it as the Internet on both laptops was too slow to download it.

If I access a website on my laptop which is windows 7, it loads immediately. If I try it on either windows 8 laptop, and on any browser it takes forever; an opening a PDF online takes hours.

I have managed to make it faster by fiddling with the power saving settings, which decides to minimise performance when not plugged in.

Anyone able to advise me on what to do or how to fix it... And as simply as possible? When I ask google it assumes I'm a technical expert.

Erm, this is an odd one...

I can only assume some of the drivers might not be supported by Windows 8? (maybe?) Have you tried using the Windows Update tool?

or it either might be an issue with your broadband, sometimes sharing a connection can slow one connection down if you get what I mean... You might need to have a chat with your ISP (Internet Service Provider)

You can also try and turning off the Modem / Router for 30 seconds and then turning it back on, sounds basic but sometimes it actually does fix the problem!

What's the make and model of the laptops? :)

in addition to what Knight said, make sure they're connected to your network and haven't decided to connect to a neighbours insecure wireless network.

We have tried the laptops at my mother in laws house with her BT broadband, at my house with TalkTalk broadband and at the university where she works and there is no difference in speed at any of these locations.

Both laptops came with Windows 8 so the drivers on them should all be compatible with windows 8. I have updated both using the widows update and nothing has changed.