PC/Win7 doesn't like 'waking up' after sleep mode

Javioli

I use Win7 64-bit Ultimate and often I'll ask it to 'sleep' so it powers off but can power back up quickly.

A week or so ago it started having trouble waking up properly - the mouse cursor would be extremely laggy, pressing Alt-Ctrl-Del would take up to 30 seconds to do anything, it wouldn't want to shut down properly, etc. etc. etc.

I've not updated any drivers recently (I keep my video drivers up to date but last update was last month). Windows Updates are automatic however and they install when they want to.

Any ideas what might be causing this?

PC Spec;

ABIT IX48-GT3 Socket 775

Intel Core2Quad Q9400 (2.66Ghz) (2×3 MB L2, 1333 MHz FSB, 95W TDP)

8Gb Corsair TwinX DDR3 1333

XFX ATI Radeon HD 5870 1024

SATA hard drives

SATA (Lightscribe) burnerWin7 Ultimate 64-bit

Firstly, I am no computer expert. I can't say exactly what it is that is likely to be causing the slow speed. I would, however, recommend some type of computer maintenance program.

I personally use TuneUp Utilities and find it to be very effective in speeding things up. There are plenty of free alternatives out there though.

I'm not sure it's a clogging up issue, I can replicate the problem by switching it on from cold and putting it in sleep mode when it's done booting.

I do a regular registry cleaning, defrag and also disk cleanup.

Edited by Javioli

Have you updated it or installed any new software ? with that PC spec you shouldn't be having these types issues ..

The only new software will have been Windows Updates - which it automatically does whenever they're available.

The PC spec is fine (it's used as a gaming machine / photo editing) and it's only when it wakes up after sleep. It's as if something is stuck in a loop or whatever. I'm no expert in what happens during the sleep process.