Missing Persons team questions

StTerry

Hi there. I'm a student creating a fictional radio serial about missing people. I have a couple of policing questions, as I'd like to make it at least partially realistic (sorry if this isn't the place)! :

1) if a person is reported missing for a few days and it's out of character, who would do the initial investigation? Uniformed PCs, detectives, someone else? I'm struggling to find a standard make-up of a missing person team!

2) how do Police communicate general, boring things? - "Hi, we need you to come back to the station as someone's here to speak to you" type things. Is it via radio, or mobile, or even Whatsapp these days? 

3) if someone is missing and the police manage to get hold of the last person they were seen with on the phone, would they go to meet them or would they ask the person to come to a station? What if the person sounded a bit edgy on the phone and had history of violence?

4) who has the authority to make a PC move to another team/area because they aren't performing well in their current role? I.e. what rank?

Thanks in advance!

1 hour ago, StTerry said:

1) if a person is reported missing for a few days and it's out of character, who would do the initial investigation? Uniformed PCs, detectives, someone else? I'm struggling to find a standard make-up of a missing person team!

Almost always Uniformed PC up where I am. Depending on the exact details of how it came in and what was know CID may take an early interest but they'd want Uniform to make an initial attendance in my experience.

The reason you struggle is there isn't really a standard as such. There are so many factors about when you engage formal search teams and which bit of CID might be interested. Also varies area to area as you may then engage early with Search and Rescue (SAR) or Mountain Rescue (MR). Age of missing person will also play a big factor in this.