The best of bensonby

bensonby

It's a bit egotistical but I have rescued some of my favorite posts from the site that shall not be named. I have no idea if it chronicles anything resembling a "typical" career but I've had some interesting experiences. Here is a, roughly chronological account of various incidents I have experienced. Obviously the posts below represent a fraction of what I have seen and done and are "highlights" of interesting jobs I have been involved in. I have had to leave out some of my favourite experiences for operational reasons or because they relate to ongoing cases.

For those interested this is a rough timeline of my career so far over the past 7 years:

November 2007 - Commence training as a special constable with the Metropolitan Police Serivce

April 2008 - Attest as a Special Constable

November 2008 - Start as a Police Constable in The Met

May 2009 - Posted to a satellite station on a response team in a South London Borough

August 2011 - Train as a Level 2 public order officer

August 2011 - Take part in policing the London Riots

September 2011 - Move to the borough's main police station still on the same response team

December 2011 - Move to a Safer Neighbourhood Team (SNT)

March 2012 - Pass OSPRE part 1 (sergeants' exam)

August-September 2012 - Police the Olympics and Paralympics

End of 2012 - cover an Acting Sergeant (A/PS) role on my SNT for a couple of months

September 2013 - The SNTs are restructured and I become a "dedicated ward PC"

June-August 2014 - A/PS once more

Present - remain a dedicated ward PC. However, moves are afoot to move on

I appreciate that all of the above might make my identity somewhat obvious. It doesn't bother me to be honest, there is nothing written here (or anywhere else on any forum) that I wouldn't repeat to the DPS, no operational information is disclosed and I'm probably pretty easy to identify in any case.

If anyone is still reading this, I hope you enjoy....

• Like 1