Account Notice
  • To post a recruitment query in the "Recruitment Areas" or in the "Force Specific Areas" you will require a Recruitment Pass or a Membership Package. Click HERE to read more.
  • Your Account Is Currently Limited

Hi all, i wonder if i could engage and get more thoughts on the DE Inspector Programme. A little about me first, i am a manager with the health care sector and have been for over 10 years now, i currently have a staff team of around 60 - 70 people. I am also a serving Special Constable and absolutely love the job and look forward to the weekends when i can go out on shift and assist my regular colleagues.

I wanted to gage peoples thoughts on the process and if by being a serving Special if would be looked upon any differently to say someone who had no operational experience at all. I am wanting to apply to West Mercia Police as if is the closest force to where i currently serve.

Any thoughts would be appreciated good or bad, and if anyone has gone through the process would be great to hear from you.

Many Thanks in advance. 

James 

Sapor62

Hi James,

I've been a Special Constable, Special Sergeant and now again a Special Constable - In my previous day job I was managing one of the top 10 hotels on Tripadvisor for the UK, I had a team of around 50 and in civvy street at least, I was a great manager.

I disagree completely with the direct entry scheme, based purely on the fact I don't know of any career that can prepare you for the harsh realities of being a Sergeant (Most important in the police) and an Inspector, often having to make drastic decisions that can have lasting impacts.