michaelgaga

Just wondering if there are any openly gay specials in the force? How do you feel about being a gay officer? Dose it impact on your work or are you treated differently by colleagues/public?

Thanks!

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Administrative Account

• max

• Dice

• Posh

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi. Im an openly gay officer. Im ok with it and im not bothered what people may think. It doesnt impact on my work as an officer at all. Im not treated any differently for it and i dont expect to be. I'm good at what i do and just because im gay doesnt change that. Those that think it does are narrow minded.

• Like 4

The majority of MSC SLT are, so I doubt you'd have problems in MetLand. And you'd certainly have some support and a half of anything was said or done!

Fry

The short answer is ... there's plenty of openly gay officers. People, by and large, judge you by your competence as a police officer. There's no real reason why it'd come to the attention of your average MOP unless you tell them, so it shouldn't impact on your work.

Personally, I find it easier. It means I don't have to awkwardly (not) contribute to the which-drunken-woman-do-you-find-least-unattractive type conversations... you can openly judge their boyfriends instead. :whistle:

• Like 4
Traffic Rat

As a long serve officer who joined in the late 80's I have seen the whole situation change, especially in the Met where I started.

There used to the sniggers / snide comments behind an officers back (esp female officers) who others suspected to be gay.