Account Notice
  • To post a recruitment query in the "Recruitment Areas" or in the "Force Specific Areas" you will require a Recruitment Pass or a Membership Package. Click HERE to read more.
  • Your Account Is Currently Limited

Disable-Adblock.png

We have detected that your browser is using AdBlock

Police Community is a not for profit organisation and advertising revenue is key to our continued viability.

Please disable your AdBlocker on our site in order to continue using it.
This message will disappear once AdBlock has been disabled.

Thank you for your support - we appreciate it !

If you feel you are getting this message in error please email support@policecommunity.co.uk

JonBrad1988

Hi Visibility Equipment Vest

JonBrad1988

Morning All,

I'm currently a Police Community Support officer and wear all black kit.

Last year it was introduced to us that we have to wear a hi visibility jacket at all times to help improve our main priority, Visibility. This meant we have to wear four layers in the baking sun, walking the beat! An Op Top (t-shirt), Mehler Vario Body Armour, Equipment Vest, hi visibility jacket (zipped up over the top!).

We have raised concerns to our superiors that things aren't fit for purpose but feel it's being brushed under the carpet. Our main concern is heat followed by not having quick access to our equipment should a spontaneous moment occur (we'd have to unzip the jacket etc).

Our superiors have told us that there is no hi visibility equipment vest available that is BS EN 471 Class 3 Compliant like our jackets, therefore, we would not be covered under health and safety regulations.

Any help or ideas anyone can offer would be appreciated.

Cheers.

skydiver