Account Notice
  • To post a recruitment query in the "Recruitment Areas" or in the "Force Specific Areas" you will require a Recruitment Pass or a Membership Package. Click HERE to read more.
  • Your Account Is Currently Limited

Disable-Adblock.png

We have detected that your browser is using AdBlock

Police Community is a not for profit organisation and advertising revenue is key to our continued viability.

Please disable your AdBlocker on our site in order to continue using it.
This message will disappear once AdBlock has been disabled.

Thank you for your support - we appreciate it !

If you feel you are getting this message in error please email support@policecommunity.co.uk

MountainMan

Juvenile Reprimand, Theft

MountainMan

Hi All,

Finding this forum very useful as I'm just beginning my journey through the application process and it's so good to see people willing to offer their experiences etc.

My query is of a vetting nature I'm afraid (I know there's a fair few floating around), I'd just like to know of any success stories of people who have a similar case as mine. As the thread name suggests I recieved a Juvenile Reprimand in 2008 for Theft (aged 15). Has anyone else had their vetting cleared with a similar history? This is the only dealing I've had with the police but, for obvious reasons, it's bothering me. Although the guidelines don't necessarily state it's a definite rejection; I'm aware that it does hugely call in to question my integrity and to be honest if I had the choice between myself and someone else devoid of taint then it's a no-brainer.

But it's not something I will give up on easily and if anyone can give me some positive anecdotes it may help put my mind at a bit of ease.

Mazza

Vetting is very much on a case by case basis as they need to look at the whole context. The key thing is as long as you are honest in vetting as it’s not necessarily what you’ve done but it’s whether or not you’re honest about it.

Good luck!