Account Notice
  • To post a recruitment query in the "Recruitment Areas" or in the "Force Specific Areas" you will require a Recruitment Pass or a Membership Package. Click HERE to read more.
  • Your Account Is Currently Limited

Disable-Adblock.png

We have detected that your browser is using AdBlock

Police Community is a not for profit organisation and advertising revenue is key to our continued viability.

Please disable your AdBlocker on our site in order to continue using it.
This message will disappear once AdBlock has been disabled.

Thank you for your support - we appreciate it !

If you feel you are getting this message in error please email support@policecommunity.co.uk

04amh

Would you arrest somebody for possession of FARB Gel?

04amh

Hi all,

As I have previously mentioned in other posts, I am a piano teacher, and I have been looking for ways to protect myself.

One solution that I have come across, is FARB Gel

However, I have heard conflicting reports on its legality. I called 101 about a week ago, and was told that it wouldn't be a firearm, however, I would be arrested for possession of an offensive weapon if caught with it. It was explained to me that, if I were carrying it, it would be obvious that I have the intent to use it as there would otherwise be no legitimate reason to carry one.

I then contacted my local police station, who told me that it would be completely legal to carry, as the dye is merely beetroot juice. However, if an officer suspected that I had modified it (ie, replaced the beetroot juice with irritants), then I would be arrested for possession of an offensive weapon, or possibly s5 of the firearms act.